Yes Marinas! Sowery Wins 4 Hours of Abu Dhabi

The final round of the Asian Le Mans Series championship and Toby Sowery’s Debut LMP2 championship took place this weekend at the stunning Yas Marinas circuit in Abu Dhabi.

Toby Sowery had an earlier flyer of 1:41.670 in FP2 in the #25 Algarve Pro Racing Oreca, a time only beaten by the team’s sister car #04 Crowdstrike which gave APR another 1-2 to close out the FP sessions ahead of qualifying.

During the first half of Saturday’s race, APR racing were disadvantaged by a safety car which ultimately left Freddie Tomlinson handing the car to Toby Sowery in P7.  Pushing hard in attack mode, Sowery moved the car up to P5 ahead of a red flag which saw drivers out of their cars for 20 minutes. Toby brought the #25 car home on heavily worn tyres in P7.

The final championship race held on Sunday was the most dramatic of the season. During APR’s first pitstop, the race was red-flagged which allowed the crew to service the car and insert Freddie Tomlinson. Upon the restart, the rest of the field had to box which placed APR in P1 with a 75-second advantage. Sowery jumped into the car for the final two stints of the race, maintaining the gap and managing the tyres. The team had to take a long service for their final pit stop which saw Sowery sitting patiently in the box while the crew had the luxury of time to inspect the car. The final stint was a great display of Toby’s tyre management en route to an exceptional victory for the team and Toby’s first in LMP2!

Toby Sowery: 

“We knew we had the pace in the car and the ability to put together a great result after the first race in Abu Dhabi, so I am super chuffed to come away from the 2023-24 Asian Le Mans Series with a win. It’s a little surreal and it’s nice to be back on the top step of a podium. I couldn’t have done it without Chris, Freddie and APR who provided a really fast car. It’s good to end the season – my first in LMP2 – with a bang and I am certainly looking forward to celebrating with the team. Also a huge congratulations to George Kurtz, Colin Braun and Malthe Jakobsen who have taken the Asian Le Mans Series title today in the #4 Crowdstrike by Algarve Pro Racing car.”

Stew Cox Team Principle of Algarve Pro Racing:

“A top job done by all”





Want Exclusive access?

Want Exclusive access?